Holy Spirit Catholic Primary Academy

Building God’s Kingdom of Peace, Love and Justice

Bath Road, Heckmondwike WF16 9EA


On 1st December 2021, following an instruction from Bishop Marcus, the Holy Spirit Catholic Primary School joined the Blessed Peter Snow Multi Academy Trust and were re-named the Holy Spirit Catholic Primary Academy.

Where we began ..................

The Holy Spirit Primary School in Heckmondwike, West Yorkshire opened on it's present site in 1968 and continued a tradition of Catholic Education in the town.  Bishop Robert Cornethwaite of Beverley established the first Catholic Parish in Heckmondwike in 1871.  Fr. Stephen Dolan was to be the first Parish Priest celebrating Masses from a rented room in a house in Brighton Terrace.

It wasn't until 1873 that the first Chapel and School were opened on Darley Street.  St Patrick's School was built on a plot of land purchased for the princely sum of £374.  It was here that the Catholics of Heckmondwike worshipped and were educated until the opening of our present Church in 1915 and school in 1968.  The original Chapel and School were sold to the RAFA Club in 1970.  The building had served the Catholic community of Heckmondwike well and laid the foundations for the establishment of a Catholic education in Heckmondwike.

18th March 1968 was to be the beginning of a new era as a new purpose built school opened next door to the Holy Spirit Church, and the school was re-named the Holy Spirit RC J&I School.  The school was to provide education for Catholic children who lived in the Parishes of the Holy Spirit Church, Heckmondwike and Our Lady of Unfailing Help & St Paul of the Cross, Cleckheaton. A school badge was designed which included a shamrock (to honour the early days as St Patrick's School) and a dove to signify the Holy Spirit.

In August 2015, the Diocese merged the two Parishes and appointed the Very Rev'd. Fr. Nicholas Hird as the Parish Priest to oversee the new Parish of Cleckheaton & Heckmondwike.  The Parish website can be found at www.stpaulscleckheaton.wordpress.com  - if you click on the link, you will be re-directed and can find out Mass times at both Cleckheaton & Heckmondwike Churches, by viewing the current Church newsletter.

In 2018 the Holy Spirit Catholic Primary School celebrated it's 50th anniversary.  A decorated Holy Spirit Cross was hung in the new Reception area to mark this wonderful occasion.  A small wooden version of the Cross was also given to each member of Staff, each child and all Governors of the School as a keepsake.  Bishop Marcus Stock came to school to celebrate with us.

Head Teachers:    Mr Tony Monaghan 1968 - 1984, Mr Patrick Conaghan 1984 - 2008 and Mr John Cooper 2008 - present.

Deputy Head Teachers:  Mr Sid Cooper 1968 - 1986, Mrs Mary Clarkson 1986 - 2001, Mr John Cooper 2001 - 2008, Mrs Louise Jefferson 2008 - present.

Secretary:  Mrs Margaret Peel  1968 - 1996

Bursar / Business Manager:  Mrs Janice Ryan   1996 - 2022

Business Support:  Miss Alison Rochford 2022 - present

Caretaker: Mr Ray Hughes 1968 - 1997, Mr Shaun Camponi 1997 - 2021, Mr Michael Guy 2021 - present